Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila beat Swallows FC 4-3 on penalties (2-2 after extra-time) at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Friday evening to book their spot in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals.

Washington Arubi saved successive penalties from Vuyo Mere and Musa Nyatama as Tshakuma became the first team to beat Swallows in just under a year.

Thabo Mnyamane fired the hosts in front in the 19th minute as he built on his scoring form with another unstoppable free-kick that fizzed past Virgil Vries in the Swallows goal from the edge of the area.

Vhadau Vha Damani dominated the ensuing minutes and Vries did well to keep out Celimpilo Ngema’s rasping effort with an unorthodox save, before Lehlohonolo Nonyane watched his header cannon off the woodwork, with the Namibian shot-stopper well beaten.

Having rode their luck in the pouring rain, Swallows pulled level in the 44th minute as Sipho Sibiya powered home a sliding header on what was a very wet surface under foot.

TTM regained their lead in the 52nd minute as Rhulani Manzini nodded a pin-point cross from Mogakolodi Ngele into the back of the net, but as has often been the case this season, Swallows just didn’t give up and pulled level once more with 76 minutes on the clock as Vuyo Mere thumped the ball past Arubi from close range.

The hosts had a chance to win the match in extra-time when S’fiso Hlanti hacked down Joseph Malongoane inside the penalty area, but Vries denied Meshack Maphangule from the spot as penalties duly followed.

Arubi saved Mere’s attempt before Maphangule made amends from the spot to put pressure on Nyatama. The midfielder struck his shot well, but Arubi guessed correctly to emerge as the hero on the night.

Tshakhuma (1) 2 (Mnyamane 19′ Manzini 52′)

Swallows FC (1) 2 (Sibiya 44′ Mere 76′)

Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila won 4-3 on penalties.

Tshakhuma: Arubi; Lukhubeni, Ndengane, Nonyane, Ravhuhali, Madhanaga (Malongoane 98′), Manaka, Ngema (Maphangule 99′), Ngele (Theron 74′), Mnyamane (Rakhale 99′), Manzini (Rantie 71′).

Swallows FC: Vries; Hlanti, Sibiya (Mthethwa 108′), Ngcobo, Mere, Nyatama, Thibedi (Mokoena 78′), Mahlatsi, Sekgota (90+3′), Mhlongo (Mosadi 72′), Malinga (Gamildien 72′).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Gamildien’s brace send Pirates home.

The MTN 8 defending Champions Orlando Pirates were knocked out of MTN 8 by their rivalry Moroka Swallows 2-1 at Orlando Stadium. The Birds took a lead through Ruzaigh Gamildien, he scored on the 16th minute with a free-kick that beat shot-stopper Richard Ofori at his near post. Swallow forced a mistake from Richard Ofori, […]


The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has confirmed the dates, venues and kick-off times for the MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures. All four #MTN8 quarterfinals will be played on the weekend of 14 and 15 August 2021.  Defending champions, Orlando Pirates, will kick-off proceedings when they host Swallows FC at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday, 14 August 2021. […]

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial