Sundowns dispatch SuperSport United as record-setting PSL title is secured

Mamelodi Sundowns defeated 10-men SuperSport United 3-1 in Wednesday’s Tshwane derby at Loftus Versfeld to wrap up the PSL title in some style.

Masandawana put their Caf Champions League exit behind them with a resounding victory on Wednesday

Substitute Lebohang Maboe, Aubrey Modiba and the returning Themba Zwane all scored in a 12-minute first-half blitz as Sundowns cruised to the championship in style, while SSU, who lost Guily Cyprien Manziba to a seventh-minute red card but pulled one back through Teboho Mokoena, were largely outclassed.

Victory means that Sundowns become the first team ever to win the title on four consecutive occasions in the PSL era, while SSU still have a fight on their hands to secure a top three finish with two matches to play.

Early in the second half, Sundowns had an opportunity to extend their lead when Phillips handled in the visitors’ box following an Erasmus cross. Keenan Williams was equal to Zwane’s effort from the spot, however, and saved the resulting spotkick.

Mokoena did respond for SSU late on, albeit to save face, as he beat Denis Onyango with a magnificent volley in the 86th minute.

There was further late drama at the death for Sundowns, as Brian Onyango was forced to deputise for his namesake between the sticks after the Uganda No. 1 had to be replaced with injury and Downs having used all of their substitutes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


TTM is Now Marumo Gallants FC

Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila Football Club have confirmed they have been renamed the club to Marumo Gallants with a fresh new logo ahead of the 2021/22 season. The announcement from the Nedbank Cup champions was made on Thursday morning in Sandton, Johannesburg as they look to usher the club into a new era under the ownership […]


Mamelodi Sundowns striker, Peter Shalulile, was the biggest winner at the 2021 PSL Awards on Sunday evening. Shalulile walked away with both the 2020/21 PSL Footballer of the Season and DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season awards. The Namibian international beat Mamelodi Sundowns teammate Themba Zwane and Maritzburg United’s Thabiso Kutumela for the two […]

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial