AmaZulu FC were held to a 1-1 draw by Chippa United in the DStv Premiership match at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The draw saw Usuthu remain eighth on league standings after recording their sixth successive draw and they have also recorded the most draws (11) this term, while the Chilli Boys also remained 15th on the log.

Lehlohonolo Majoro was recalled to the starting line-up by Usuthu coach Benni McCarthy and the former Kaizer Chiefs hitman looked hungry for goals in the opening stages of the encounter.

The man nicknamed ‘Major’ did get the goal he had been looking for when Mbongeni Gumede’s long ball eluded goalkeeper Ismail Watenga and Majoro fired into an empty net to hand AmaZulu a 1-0 lead in the 24th minute.

However, Usuthu’s lead only lasted for two minutes as the in-form Bienvenu Eva Nga made it three goals in as many league games when he scored with a good finish to make it 1-1, with Thokozani Sekotlong providing the assist.

Sekotlong then tried to put his name on the score sheet after being set up by Evan Nga, but his tame effort was easily saved by South Africa international Mothwa and the score was 1-1 during the halftime break.

Mccarthy made a double substitution prior to the start of the second-half as he introduced Thembela Sikhakhane and Philani Zulu with Usuthu looking to regain control of the match and also restore their lead.

Majoro continued to look dangerous for the visitors as he forced Uganda international Watenga into a fine save a few minutes before the hour-mark and Chippa interim coach Kurt Lentjies decided to make changes.

Sammy Seabi and Mogakolodi Ngele were introduced by the young tactician and the latter tried to make an immediate impact by setting up Thabiso Lebitso, and the winger fired wide of the target with 20 minutes left.

Both teams launched attacks in the closing stages of the game as they searched for a late winning goal which never came and ultimately, the game ended in a 1-1 stalemate.

Chippa (1) 1 (Eva Nga 26′)

AmaZulu (1) 1 (Majoro 24′)

Chippa: Watenga, Zulu, Mdlinzo, Mthethwa, Hanamub, Mdunyelwa (Lebitso 46′), Pietersen, Sekotlong (Seabi 64′), Mkhize, Maloisane (Ngele 46′), Eva Nga (Hoala 82′).

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Malepe (Zulu 46′), Xoki, Moleko (Mthembu 74′), Buchanan (Sikhakhane 46′), Sithebe, Makhaula, Memela (De Jong 74′), Majoro, Ntuli (Shange 73′).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Swallows are safe and remain in the topflight

Swallows FC will be in the DStv Premiership next season after seeing off University of Pretoria in their final play-off encounter at the Lucas Moripe Stadium. Swallows FC retained their status in PSL after winning promotion/relegation playoffs on Wednesday afternoon. The Dube Birds needed a victory against Tuks and managed to do so in a […]

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial