Orlando Pirates are MTN 8 Champions

Orlando Pirates ended a six-year trophy drought by clinching the MTN8, coming from behind to defeat Bloemfontein Celtic 2-1 in the final at Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday night.

Josef Zinnbauer’s men went into the clash dubbed favourites after a dominant run-in to the final, where they scored six unanswered goals.

The worst start the Soweto Giants could have wished for came true, as they were almost immediately forced to chase the game.

It took all of four minutes for Celtic to take the lead through Siphelele Luthuli, whose acrobatic effort from close range made it 1-0.

It would take until after the half-hour mark for the Buccaneers to equalise, with Deon Hotto snatching a loose ball from a scramble inside the Celtic box to get his first goal in Pirates colours.

As the clock approached the halfway mark, Zakhele Lepasa could have given Pirates the lead as he was released by Fortune Makaringe but did not make enough of a connection to turn the ball into the net.

If the start of the first half was nightmarish for the Buccaneers, the first few minutes of the second were the stuff of dreams as Celtic’s Ronald Pfumbidzai was adjudged to have pulled Thembinkosi Lorch down inside the box.

A red card was handed out to the culprit, with a penalty awarded to the Sea Robbers. 

Lorch stepped up, sending Jackson Mabokgwane the wrong way to hand his side the lead for the first time in the encounter.

It was then time to shut things down, but that turned out to not be a straightforward mission with Celtic not giving up, despite their numerical disadvantage.

The Buccaneers, however, weathered the storm, emerging victorious to claim their first trophy since 2014.

Starting XI: Ofori (GK), Hlatshwayo (C), Nyauza, Jooste, Maela, Motshwari, Monare (24′ Lorch [87′ Ndlovu]), Makaringe, Hotto, Pule, Lepasa (90′ Mabasa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Gamildien’s brace send Pirates home.

The MTN 8 defending Champions Orlando Pirates were knocked out of MTN 8 by their rivalry Moroka Swallows 2-1 at Orlando Stadium. The Birds took a lead through Ruzaigh Gamildien, he scored on the 16th minute with a free-kick that beat shot-stopper Richard Ofori at his near post. Swallow forced a mistake from Richard Ofori, […]


The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has confirmed the dates, venues and kick-off times for the MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures. All four #MTN8 quarterfinals will be played on the weekend of 14 and 15 August 2021.  Defending champions, Orlando Pirates, will kick-off proceedings when they host Swallows FC at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday, 14 August 2021. […]

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial