Sundowns hold Amazulu to remain unbeaten

Mamelodi Sundowns were held to a 0-0 draw by AmaZulu FC in the DStv Premiership match at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium in Durban on Wednesday afternoon. 

The draw saw unbeaten Masandawana remain at the top of the league standings – six points above second-placed Usuthu, with the former having two games in hand. 

Masandawana looked to grab an early goal and they threatened first when Lyle Lakay played a cross for his fellow fullback Thapelo Morena.

Morena opted to volley the ball and the Bafana Bafana international hit the side-netting nine minutes into the encounter as Usuthu survived a scare.

AmaZulu grew in confidence as the match progressed and Rushine De Reuck had to make a well-timed interception to deny Augustine Mulenga in the 19th minute.

However, Sundowns regained control of the game towards the half-hour mark with Peter Shalulile unleashing a snap-shot which sailed wide of the target.

Gaston Sirino then attempted to set-up Shalulile with a cross two minutes after the half-hour mark, but AmaZulu goalkeeper Veli Mothwa came out and gathered the ball. 

The score was 0-0 at the interval following a first half which had few clear-cut chances. 

Masandawana dominated the match after the restart and Mothwa became a busy man between the sticks for Usuthu in the opening 15 minutes of the top-of-the-log encounter.

The new Bafana international had to come out and gather Morena’s dangerous curling cross, before denying Zwane following a quick counter-attack by the visitors.

With their side pushing for the opening goal, Sundowns co-coaches Manqoba Mngqithi and Rhulani Mokwena introduced Aubrey Modiba and Gift Motupa in the 73rd minute. 

The duo nearly made an immediate impact as Motupa set-up Modiba, who was denied by Mothwa in the 77th minute and Shalulile poked the ball wide of the target from the rebound.

AmaZulu were then able to contain Sundowns in the dying minutes of the game and the match ended in a 0-0 stalemate on the day. 

AmaZulu 0
Sundowns 0

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Gumede, Xoki, Maduna (Magubane 89′), Makhaula, Kewuti, Sithebe, Mulenga (Mgwazela 89′), Qalinge (Memela 90′), Mthembu (Majoro 74′).

Sundowns: Onyango, Morena, De Reuck, Lebusa, Lakay, Coetzee, Maboe, Mkhulise (Mudau 90’+3), Zwane (Motupa 74′), Sirino (Modiba 74′), Shalulile (Mvala 90’+3)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Swallows are safe and remain in the topflight

Swallows FC will be in the DStv Premiership next season after seeing off University of Pretoria in their final play-off encounter at the Lucas Moripe Stadium. Swallows FC retained their status in PSL after winning promotion/relegation playoffs on Wednesday afternoon. The Dube Birds needed a victory against Tuks and managed to do so in a […]

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial